Jewish Penicillin Mug… Oh and Whats for Dinner

Chicken soup has always been known as the Jewish Penicillin. In some sort of weird way it is the cure for everything. So what better way to drink your Jewish Penicillin than from a Jewish Penicillin Mug. I kid you not.  Here is a picture of the mug.

mug

It really makes a great housewarming gift. It is a much more interesting hostess gift than a bottle of wine, a plant, or another box of candy- which really none of us need. In fact it  seems to be a favorite of the Jewish Museum of Oslo who have ordered many for their gift shop. The mug sells for $20 and holds 24oz.

So moving on.

I recently decided that to spice up my blogs about the products that we offer, as a bonus I will  share with my readers (or my one reader) my biggest challenge of the day… what to serve for dinner. (I can’t imagine that it is any more interesting reading about menorahs, mezuzahs, challah covers, seder plates, or even the Jewish Penicillin Mug than it is writing about them.)

I am a mother of 4, and besides running AllThingsJewish.com and trying to offer the community at large “all things Jewish”,  I am confronted with the daily challenges of 4 kids. I find the biggest challenge to be what to serve for dinner that everyone will like and from what I understand from many of my friends I am not alone.

As I was writing about the Jewish Penicillin Mug, I had this craving for chicken soup and it happens to be a favorite in this house. So guess what my kids are having for dinner?

Through the years of making chicken soup I feel like I have perfected a stable of the Jewish diet. When I first began making chicken soup I would use a whole chicken.  But I have smartened up in my old age and found an easy and less expensive way of cooking up the Jewish Penicillin. The key to my success are “soup socks”.

photo-3

 Next to indoor plumbing “soup socks” are the best invention and have simplified the making of chicken soup by a hundred fold. Not only have they simplified the process but instead of using a whole chicken to make soup I use a package of chicken bones which is a lot less expensive. Living in the Los Angeles area I am able to buy the “soup socks” at the the store Sur La Table at the Grove, but you could also order them on-line.

http://www.surlatable.com/search/search.jsp?N=4294967064&Ntt=soup+socks

Follow the steps below and you will have a great tasting chicken soup.

Easy to Make Chicken Soup

Place a package of chicken bones in one soup sock.

Place the soup sock with the chicken bones in a larger pot of water and begin to boil the water. 

Add your vegetables such as parsnip, celery, carrots, onions and leeks. ( If you want more of a clear broth place your vegetables in another “soup sock”.)

Add about 1/2 tsp of salt.

After the soup begins to bowl turn the flame to low, cover and let the soup cook for at least 1 hour. (The longer you let the soup boil the more concentrated it becomes.)

Once the soup has cooked you could discard the soup socks. For the more adventurous one syou could open up the “socks” and suckle the bones.

Happy eating!!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

